Musical Theatre Educators' Alliance

Established in the United States in 1999, we're proud of our history in strengthening musical theatre training all around the world.

JOIN OUR FUTURE

About MTEA

Musical Theatre Educators’ Alliance was founded in 1999 as a means for teachers of young professional artists to come together and exchange ideas, methodologies, and solutions to common challenges in the academic settings of universities and conservatories. The organization has grown to include member institutions spanning the United States, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Membership provides not only an online forum for discussions pertaining to musical theatre training and the exchange of ideas and resources, but also access to our annual conference, which alternates between US and international locations.

First in Class and Beyond

We're committed to promoting the highest standards in the education and training of musical theatre performers, teachers, coaches, and consultants for all performance media. We serve teachers and administrators who teach students in professional musical theater training programs.

Executive Team

Jacob Brent

VICE PRESIDENT FOR CONFERENCES

James Madison University
jacob@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Jonathan Flom

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Slippery Rock University
jonathan@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Matty Miller 

VICE PRESIDENT FOR RECRUITMENT

Chico State University
matty@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Dale Cox

VICE PRESIDENT FOR INTERNATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

University of Southern Queensland, Australia
dale@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Timothy Espinosa

LEAD DIVERSITY OFFICER

Fullerton College
timothy@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Andrew Barratt Lewis

DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS

Weber State University
andrew@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Amelia Rollings Bigler

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF, MTEA JOURNAL

Western Kentucky University
amelia@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Natalie Pitchford

MARKETING DIRECTOR

The Galloway School
natalie@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Regional Directors

Tommy Iafrate

REGION 1 DIRECTOR

Binghamton University
tommy@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland

David Coolidge 

REGION 2 DIRECTOR

Anderson University
david@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Tennessee, District of Columbia

Tara Snyder

REGION 3 DIRECTOR

University of Central Florida
tara@musicaltheatreeducators.org

North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

Jessica Humphrey

REGION 4 DIRECTOR 

Texas Christian University
jessica@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Arkansas, Missouri, Texas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming

Timothy Espinosa

REGION 5 DIRECTOR 

Fullerton College
timothy@musicaltheatreeducators.org

Montana, Idaho, Utah, Arizona, California, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Alaska, Hawaii, Norther Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa

At-Large Members

Close

50% Complete

Two Step

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.